Day 3: Brain Training

brain_workout-300x300[1]The whole point of this detox is to retrain your brain to not crave sugar or carbs. I can only wonder what will happen after 21 days. Will sugar make me sick? Will I ever eat pizza again? Of course I will, I’m not insane. Although I must pat myself on the back for say “No!” to the pizza we ordered last night for dinner. Instead I enjoyed broiled salmon, seasoned with salt, pepper, lemon, with a little coconut oil over a bed of mixed greens with tomato and cucumber. I used some of the homemade 21 DSD approved dressing and it was satisfying.  Tuesday night has been our pizza night for a long time. I would usually come home from Kaila’s gymnastics practice a raging lunatic and devour 2 slices of pizza and every scrap the children left behind. I would feel bloated and disgusting as I rolled into bed. In fact, I ate so much that I was still stuffed the next morning and didn’t feel the need to eat before 5:30 am Body Pump class. Today was different. I went to bed satisfied last night, not stuffed, but I woke up slightly hungry. I panicked. What could I possibly shove into my mouth and jump in the car to make it to class in time? I ended up having a slice of Swiss cheese and a little bit of whole milk, for protein. Class was great! I was fully energized and even when I got home I wasn’t shaking from starvation. After the kids breakfast was served I scrambled 2 eggs. I’ve been fine since.

Last night I whipped up a batch of the bittersweet hot cocoa that is 21 DSD approved and it was a bit of a shocker. Kaila didn’t like it all. It looks so chocolatey but it’s not by any means sweet. I drank it and I wouldn’t say I absolutely enjoyed it but it wasn’t awful. I kept telling myself by next week this should taste rather normal. Brain training. They have a recipe for these almond butter cups but I have to go to the natural food store for some more ingredients. Shop Rite blows.

As I snuggled into bed with my iPad and herbal tea I went on the 21 DSD Facebook page to read comments of the people who are doing this along with me. I was shocked at people’s complaints on how awful they felt. People were having shakes, headaches, flu symptoms.  I do not feel any of those things. This one woman said she was having caffeine withdrawal because she gave up coffee. I wanted to ask her why she felt the need to fully torture herself. Coffee reminds me of life before the detox. I enjoy it. I’m very happy it’s allowed on this detox, sans sugar of course.

I’m starting to think outside of the 21 DSD cookbook and coming up with my own ideas. Tonight I’m making tacos. I know I can prepare it sugar and carb free, well the kids can have the shells, and I’m going to make some spicy cauliflower rice. It will be a familiar dish with less ingredients which will be nice. Sometimes having so many new foods makes you long for your old comfort foods. I said no to the sausage this morning because I never eat sausage. I just whipped up the eggs and was happy.

Overall I feel great. I’m just sore from Body Pump, which is a good thing.

6 thoughts on “Day 3: Brain Training

  1. Let me know how the cauliflower rice is and if it’s worth the fuss. I’ve always wanted to try it but not enough to make it and have my kids yell at me. We bake our cauliflower with breadcrumbs, cream and nutmeg (not 21 DSD approved).

    • The rice was delicious. I sautéed red onion and yellow bell pepper in coconut oil first. Then I threw the cauliflower into a food processor and pulsed for a second or two and then I sautéed the cauliflower in a larger pan with coconut oil for about 5 minutes. Then I combined everything and tossed some cilantro on top. I served it with my leftover meatloaf. Reilly liked it. Kaila wouldn’t touch it but she also hates rice.

  2. I will definitely try making it soon then. I will be surprised if the kids try it without bribery and multiple threats. I notice that you’ve been using coconut oil a lot. Are you not allowed to use olive oil? Is there a particular benefit of using coconut over olive oil?

Leave a Reply

