Day 6: I think I’m still drunk

ImageI woke up drunk today. I didn’t have a sip of alcohol last night so it’s not from a wild Friday night of too many glasses of red wine and an episode of Breaking Bad so it has to be my blood sugar. I’ll take this as a positive sign that this detox is working. I can’t believe how weird I feel. I had a hard boiled egg for breakfast and when I returned from dropping my oldest off at hockey practice I indulged in a banana. My theory how this detox has cured my banana issues turned out to be false. Within 10 minutes I was sent to the couch with gut-wrenching pain ripping through abdomen. Oh well. So it’s been a bit of a rough morning. When the pain subsided I decided to make a normal lunch. Green salad, broiled chicken breast with tomato, cucumber and avocado. I feel a little bit better but I still feel a little light-headed. I’ve been adding cinnamon to my coffee because it helps regulate blood sugar. Who knew!

Last night I made the Shrimp Pad Thai receipe from the 21 Day Sugar Detox book. It was good but it was hard to compare to real Pad Thai (which I LOVE). The noodles were made from julienne-sliced zucchini which were tasty. The sauce was made from almond butter and a few other spices.  I think I simply had an overdose of almond butter yesterday. Maybe that’s why I feel so out of it today.

In the process of prepping for the rest of the weekend and beginning of next week I whipped up a batch of carrot pumpkin spice muffins. The flour is replaced with coconut flour and there is no sugar. They’re not too bad. My kids think they taste awful but it felt good to bite into something doughy. I also roasted a spaghetti squash for tonight’s dinner. We’re going to a friends house for spaghetti & meatballs so I’m bringing my own spaghetti. The marina sauce has canola oil in it (a detox no-no because it’s highly processed) but I think I’m going to cheat tonight and indulge. I’ll also be bringing a couple of bags of green tea so I won’t be empty handed at the gathering.

So today hasn’t been my most favorite day on the detox. I’m not the least bit tired but I feel like plopping on the couch because my head is spinning. It’s a good rainy day to get house work done but I feel the need to sit every 10 minutes. Maybe it’s a sign to take it easy today.

Leave a Reply

