Day 15: I cheated, for reals this time

sugar-detox[1]Dear diary, I’m a cheater.

We went out for dinner last night at Bahama Breeze and  I looked over the menu to find a 21 DSD friendly dish and since I’m really tired of salad I went for a meal. I thought ordering wood-grilled chicken, broccoli and cinnamon mashed yams would be innocent but lo  and behold the yams were laced with brown sugar. I knew it by the first bite and yet I kept shoving it into my mouth. Tom scooped up a spoonful, looked at me, and pointed out the brown sugar taste. Busted.  I thought the sugary taste in the yams would’ve been an overload of sweetness but it really wasn’t at all. It was quite tasty. Uh oh.

Let me back up to Saturday afternoon when I baked 3 batches of homemade chocolate chip cookies for my wee little ones and their friend because I’m an awesome mom. Not only did I avoid licking the batter and melted chocolate off my hands I didn’t eat ONE cookie. Not one.  It was one of the best batches of cookies I’ve made in a while too. They didn’t come out like pancakes.  They appeared to be puffed,  lightly browned circular pieces of heaven and I avoided them. I’ll also throw in Saturday night, after an intense hockey game there was a birthday celebration and I said no to beer, food, and cake.  So if a little brown sugar in a yam is my cheat then it’s time to get over it and move on. Tom couldn’t believe how guilty I felt after I ate it last night. I think he laughed at me the whole way home.

My stomach wasn’t feeling that great this weekend but I feel better this morning. I’m going to get back on track with the cooking and staying on top of the meal plan. The end of the detox is so close and I know I can make it till Sunday. How do I reward myself for 21 days and only 1 slip-up (so far)? The other question is where do I go from here? I cannot maintain this total detox lifestyle forever,  that is for sure.  It’s great that I lost 6 lbs already and I hope to lose a few more but the challenge will to be putting naturally occurring sugars and starches back into my diet and keep the weight off.  The book recommends that I add one thing I’ve avoided for 3 weeks and include it in each meal and see how I feel after that day.

Time to find a new cookbook.

Leave a comment