Day 17: And the winner is…

clean_eating[1]I’m going with a modified Clean Eating (with meats and dairy in moderation). Yesterday I saw a Facebook post by a clean-eating friend and she posted this recipe: Quinoa wrap with black beans, feta and avocado and I’m drooling. Wraps, beans, quinoa, feta…ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh how I’ve missed you.  I’m not giving up meat to eat a total clean diet but I will be conscious and consume much less of it. I’ve learned that I cannot live on a diet totally based of meat, sorry Paleo People. I need dairy in my life too. I love cheese but I will eat it sparingly. I will take this detox as a learning experience. I’ve learned what my body can live with and live without. I guess it’s more of my brain, what my brain can live with and without. I can’t torture myself because that is making me unhappy. I’ve learned that I have no desire to consume processed foods anymore. I’ve been enjoying the fresh food prep and cooking part of this detox. If anything it has inspired me to be more creative in the kitchen.  My ground turkey and chorizo chili was AWESOME last night. 3 alarm chili…I was sweating and burning calories as I was eating it and my family will attest as they wiped my brow with a napkin. I cannot wait for lunch leftovers today.

This weekend is a ski weekend in Vermont.  I was on the fence with throwing the last 2 days of detox away so I could enjoy the weekend and indulge but there is a huge part of me that doesn’t want to. I have to finish what I started. My sweet, loving friend Nicole who is going up to VT with me is being super supportive and said she would drink seltzer along with me. Now that’s a friend! She doesn’t even need to but I know there will be no “pressure” just to have 1 beer.  There’s nothing worse then trying to defend your healthy actions. That’s another lesson I learned on this detox. Leave people alone. If they’re Paleo, Vegetarian, Vegan, let them be!  Don’t call them out on their cheats or choices. Let them be. They’re trying to better themselves and just because you don’t agree with it or do it there is no need to express your opinion to them. Likewise for them! I will only say something to you if you drink Diet Coke all day long because seriously, that stuff is REALLY, REALLY awful for you.  If I say something to you it’s because I love you and don’t want your guts to rot.

I’m looking forward to Monday. I think I will celebrate the end of the detox with a Quinoa & Black Bean Wrap!

5 thoughts on “Day 17: And the winner is…

  1. Awww! Just read this! I will always support you! I’m not going to be the reason for you to blow the last 2 days of being so strong and dedicated! Hope I can be as strong as you!

Leave a Reply

