Happily Ever After

lady-eating-chocolate[1]<—I was trying very hard not to do this all day yesterday. I waited until after dinner to reward myself with some Fairway Dark Chocolate Almond Bark and it was eh. I thought my mouth would be overfilled with sweetness but it really wasn’t that big of deal. The chocolate was good but I felt a little guilty after eating it last night. Was it worth the extra fat and calories? Not really. I only had a little piece with my tea. It really wasn’t enough to satisfy.

I started the morning with some Greek yogurt and I added the Ezekiel 4:9 Almond cereal to it which wasn’t so bad. It was the small of bowl of the cereal with almond milk that killed my morning. That stuff taste like crunchy cardboard. I ended up dicing some apple to throw in it and it made it more tolerable. Eating that stuff on it’s own should not be it’s intention. It’s good on my yogurt, a healthy replacement for my sugar-laden granola. I still get the crunch but without the added sugar. For lunch I finished my leftover spaghetti squash and the approved 21 DSD  Fairway marinara sauce which was delicious. Dinner, I marinated some shrimp in soy sauce, maple syrup, lime juice, olive oil seasoned with chili pepper and red pepper flakes which was scrumptious. I served it over a bed of basmati brown rice which was on the crunchy side due to the faulty installation of the sealer on my pressure cooker (oops). I finished the evening with my chocolate and tea. So the cereal, soy sauce, maple syrup, rice and 3 strawberries were my frills of the day.

I woke up this morning 2lbs lighter than yesterday (smh!) and I’m not sure how that happened. I thought for sure I would’ve gained 4 lbs consuming carbs and sugar but I didn’t. Last night I packed a high protein breakfast for this morning. 2 hard boiled eggs, almonds, carrots, and some strawberries. I also packed a couple scoops of greek yogurt if I get hungry before 9. I’m in desperate need of guidance for healthy eating. I’m looking for a book that will set up meal plans for me. I really enjoyed that aspect of the detox book. It made thinking about food not such a difficult task.

So it seems I’m still going to follow the detox book to a degree.  Maybe I will limit myself to just one serving of carbs and 2 servings of fruit a day. I can’t believe how I trained myself to eat full-fat (good fat) and protein in only 21 days. The first week of the detox  was hard for me to wrap my head around the idea of not eating low-fat. Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

