Post detox follow-up

Carl[1]Sitting at the front desk of the gym enjoying my bowl of shredded wheat and blueberries with unsweetened almond milk I realized that I’m missing my detox days.  I don’t miss the dizzy, I want to pass out from low-blood sugar moments but I miss challenging myself with something that I thought was an impossible task and sharing the experience with everyone.  So I decided that I needed to find a new challenge and continue my daily journal to keep myself motivated.

First, let me back-up a few weeks and discuss my post detox days. The detox has been a lifestyle changer. For one, I steer clear of processed foods, certain flours/grains, and bread. Well. except for the Presidents’ Day weekend binge that I buried my head in a bag of potato and tortilla chips, gnawed on a bagel or 2, and drowned my soul in red wine I’ve been avoiding the middle aisles of the supermarket. Fruit has staked a claim in my diet. The only fruit I would ever eat was an apple on occasion.  I’m obsessed with blueberries. I can’t believe it either. I pop them like candy. I replaced the granola on my yogurt with blueberries and a few almonds. My steel cut oats are topped with blueberries and walnuts. By the way, steel cut oats are the ultimate breakfast. It keeps me satisfied for HOURS!  I slather almond butter on my apples, strawberries decorate my salad and when I get a hold of a pomegranate..beware!  I don’t eat fruit all day long but I try to include it at least 2 of my meals. When I’m not eating fruit I’m eating vegetables or beans. I’m in love with roasted chickpeas as a snack too.  I also discovered black rice..YUM!

Wine. Here’s the deal. Did I miss it? I thought I did. I did enjoy the glasses..err..bottles..I consumed over the long holiday weekend with my good friends but did I miss the “Good morning, this day has to end!” feeling, not at all.  I never realized how angry and impatient I get when I drink wine. I have no tolerance for anything and I’m so easily annoyed. I enjoyed the calmness I experienced during the detox.  I have to get back to that state. I bought a bottle this past Friday night and opened it, poured a glass and was done. Then I felt pressure to get through the bottle this weekend because I didn’t want to waste the money. I failed. I still have about a glass left in the bottle. I just don’t miss the fuzzy, I’m so tired feeling after consuming a glass or 2. I don’t have time for that anymore.  I will be saving wine consumption for when I’m in good company.

I’m apart of a 30 day challenge that was formed by my friend on Facebook and my 3 goals are , running 10 miles a week (totally failed at that for week 1), drinking more water (I’m getting better), and reading instead of watching TV (getting better at this too).  I was thinking of doing the detox again but this time at level 3, no dairy, just to see what it feels like, but can I really not put cream in my coffee? So if you have any ideas on what challenge I can take on next please share them!

 

2 thoughts on “Post detox follow-up

  1. I like your new 30 day challenge. I need to find a diet that might help with my thyroid… I should start a 30 day challenge, more relaxing, yoga once a week, keep up with the workouts. Eat better, and focus on myself a bit more.

  2. I was thinking of starting the 30 day challenge with gym members but maybe I’ll do it with friends too. I was assigned a partner, a person who I never met before, and we’re supposed to motivate each other. I feel like I’m not really doing my part with the motivation but it’s hard when you don’t know the person at all. I tried being more of a team player this morning and shared my detox experience with her. She always posting information about cutting sugar so I thought that would be motivation.

Leave a Reply

